You are here

Ebène S.S.S. (Girls) wins 2013 Omnicane Award

Ebène State Secondary School (S.S.S.) (Girls) is the winner of the 2013 Omnicane Award. The results were made official during a ceremony held at Hennessy Park Hotel, Ebène, this Friday 20 September 2013. His Excellency Mr Rajkeswur Purryag, President of the Republic, graced the function in the presence of Jacques M. d’Unienville, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Omnicane Limited.

His Excellency Mr Rajkeswur Purryag presented the trophy to the members of the winning team – Shaeenah Mahabookan, Kasturi Thoddi Kotiah, Melina Moonesawmy, Shameea Hossenally and Sarah Dinally.


The winning team in company of H.E. Mr Rajkeswur Purryag, Republic, Mr Jacques M. d’Unienville, CEO of Omnicane, Mr Afsar Ebrahim and Dr Kassiap Deepchand, Chairperson and member of the 2013 Omnicane Award Jury, Mr Premchand Bundhun, rector and the members of the winning team from Ebène S. S. S. (GIRLS) as well as Mr Jacques Dinan, 2013 Omnicane Award Coordinator.

Ebène S.S.S. (Girls) wins 2013 Omnicane Award


They each received a cash prize of Rs 20,000 and a souvenir trophy. A challenge trophy was presented to the winning college. The theme of the competition was “How best can Mauritius capitalize on the opportunities that Africa offers for sustainable business ventures in the agroindustry and energy sectors?

The jury was chaired by Mr Afsar A. A. Ebrahim, Deputy Group Managing Partner BDO & Co, Mr Ken Poonoosamy, Managing Director of the Board of Investment and Dr Kassiap Deepchand, Consultant – Sugarcane and Co-products Technology and Bio-Energy.

The second prize went to Gaëtan Raynal S.S.S. whose team comprised of Aliyah Fakim, Nuha Gopee, Esther Lam Wai Shun, Bhavita Ragoo and Alison Tin Sive.

They received each a cash prize of Rs 8,000 and a souvenir trophy was handed to the team.

Taking into account the high level shown by various other teams, three special prizes were also awarded as follows: Collège Sainte Marie whose team comprised of Saniah Ebrahim Dawood, Divya Purmessur, Derek Boodoo, Jeremy Seeyave and Chahvesh Ramduny, Queen Elizabeth College whose team comprised of Naima Sairally, Sharon Sunassee, Deepti Ramchurn, Naila Sooltangos and Yeshni Luximun and Royal College Curepipe whose team comprised of Suraj Jaesh Luchmadu, Vignesh Virah Sawmy, Yeshil Dookhith Putchay, Olivier Cédric Quenette and Jeremy Wong Diffa. Each member of these three teams received a cash prize of Rs 2,000 and a souvenir trophy.