You are here

Omnicane Foundation octroie des bourses d’études à Trois habitants du Sud

G. M. D. Atchia State College is the winner of the 2021 Omnicane Award. The results were made official during a ceremony held at Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Trésor, Plaine Magnien, this Wednesday 13 April 2022.

The theme of the competition was: “Health is a Nation’s most valuable wealth. How to adopt a holistic approach towards healthcare and wellbeing in Mauritius over the next decade to effectively tackle the high prevalence of diabetes and its associated chronic complications so as to reduce i ts socio-economic impacts on the country?”

GMD Atchia - Omnicane Award 2021

The winning team with The Hon Mrs. Leela Devi Dookun-Luchoomun, GCSK, Mrs Khomal Chutoo Coopposawmy, English educator at G.M.D. Atchia State College and Mr. Jacques M. d’Unienville, GOSK, Chief Executive Officer of Omnicane

The Hon Mrs. Leela Devi Dookun-Luchoomun,GCSK, Vice-Prime Minister, Minister of Education, Tertiary Education, Science and Technology and Mr. Jacques M. d’Unienville, GOSK, Chief Executive Officer of Omnicane, presented the souvenir shields to the members of the winning team, from G. M. D. Atchia State College, which comprised of Mahirah Dinally, Zafeerah Tarsoo, Gia Ramsurrun, Haniifa Kumally and Shristi Nepaulsing. The Omnicane Award challenge trophy was presented to Mrs Khomal Chutoo Coopposawmy, English educator at GMD. Atchia State College. Each member of the winning also received a cash prize of Rs 20 000.

For Mr. Jacques M. d’Unienville, GOSK, Chief Executive Officer of Omnicane: "The objective of the 2021 Omnicane Award was to hear from our youth, how they relate to the issues, challenges and threats, posed by diabetes. We have no doubts, by just taking cognizance of the number of entries, that they did feel motivated and critically reviewed the theme and came up with a high-quality assessment of the situation, while also bringing forward valuable recommendations and testimonies."

During her speech, the Hon Mrs. Leela Devi Dookun-Luchoomun, GCSK, said : "Team work implies Collaborative Learning, and when you are involved in collaborative learning, it shows your engagement vis a vis your peers. It leads to greater empathy and promotes mutual learning. Indeed, perhaps the greatest virtue of Collaborative Learning is that it makes the group responsible for one another’s learning—and that is the acme, the peak of selflessness."

The runner up team of the competition is the Queen Elizabeth College team, composed of: Chitrishabye Govind, Yakshini Mattarooa, Aditi Rughoobur, Ganesha Darshinee Soomarchun, Sanaa Nabeelah Unuth. They each received a cash prize of Rs 8 000 and a souvenir shield was handed to each member of the team. And the third team is Le Bocge International School composed of Shanya Dawoo, Deepa Ramtohul, Aishani Awatarsing, Aaliyah Jahanger, Aliya Bahemia, each member of the team received a cash prize of Rs 8 000 and a souvenir shield.

The jury was composed of:

Mr Pierre Dinan (Chairperson)
Company Director for a number of public companies in the manufacturing and financial services sectors and he is a regular contributor to the local press on economic and financial issues.

Mr Ashok Kalleechurn, MSK
Medical consultant of Omnicane. He is the Team Leader of Posititive Attitude to Total Health, a Non governmental Organisation. He has been decorated by the Government of Mauritius in 2015 as M.S.K for Social Services in the Medical Field.

Dr Aveeraj Peedoly
Research Coordinator at the Mauritius Research and Innovation Council (MRIC). He is sociologist by training. He heads the Centre for Applied Social Research and is also responsible for the Social Innovation Programme of the Council.

Shanya Dawoo, Deepa Ramtohul, Aishani Awatarsing, Aaliyah Jahanger, Aliya Bahemia of Le Bocage International School were attributed the third prize. Every member of the team received a cheque of Rs 2,000 and a souvenir shield.

This inter-college competition, which began in 1971, was known as the Lonrho Award until 1996. From 1997 to 2000 it was known as the Illovo Award, and from 2004 to 2008 as the Mon Trésor Award.The Omnicane award took over from the Mon Trésor award and is organized under the auspices of Omnicane Foundation. The aim of the competition is to enable young people to work in teams on topical issues, to research, meet people, come to their own conclusions, and make proposals and recommendations.